Shtum by Jem Lester

Share the Love Share on FacebookPin on PinterestShare on Google+Share on LinkedInEmail this to someonePrint this page

Shtum

Jem Lester

Pages: 313
Published April 7th 2016 by Orion

Powerful, darkly funny and heart-breaking, Shtum is a story about fathers and sons, autism, and dysfunctional relationships.

Ben Jewell has hit breaking point. His ten-year-old son Jonah has severe autism and Ben and his wife, Emma, are struggling to cope.

When Ben and Emma fake a separation - a strategic decision to further Jonah's case in an upcoming tribunal - Ben and Jonah move in with Georg, Ben's elderly father. In a small house in North London, three generations of men - one who can't talk; two who won't - are thrown together.

A powerful, emotional, but above all enjoyable read, perfect for fans of THE SHOCK OF THE FALL and THE CURIOUS INCIDENT OF THE DOG IN THE NIGHT-TIME


Novel Gobblers Perspective

Carol's Rating:  ★★★★

His mind is like a dictionary with the pages glued together.

Shtum is a story about love and acceptance and how words can often be the least effective form of communication.

“Words become meaningless if you don’t tell your truth and they become weapons if you try to tell someone else theirs.”

The story sheds light on the complexities of raising an extremely autistic child and the fallibility of the systems intended to benefit them. It moves at a good pace and while it was predictable at times, I was continually surprised by the depth of devotion, gentleness, and wisdom expressed by some characters and the lack of it by others. I was surprised and gladdened by the growth in some characters, too.

Jem Lester’s writing is fluid and powerful as it easily carries you through heartaches, personal demons, joys, and triumphs to an ending where we learn the truths that made the characters who they are and leaves us loving them all the more.

 

happy-reading

(Visited 41 times, 1 visits today)
%d bloggers like this: